Welcome to the new COBS website -

Welcome to the new look COBS website.......Still under construction.

Management Committee

The Management Committee has the same role and powers as a Governing Body. You can read an annual statement from the Management Committee describing some of their work below.

City of Birmingham School is Birmingham City Council’s Pupil Referral Unit.  At COBS pupils matter, every minute of every day.  We aim to make every day as good day for our pupils and we guarantee that everyone who need help will get it.  We offer great education full of exciting learning and experiences so that pupils can go on to lead healthy, happy and successful lives.  We have high expectations of our pupils because we believe that anything is possible with the right help, guidance and support.  We also aim to make things better for pupils experiencing difficulties in other schools in Birmingham..

These are the current members and their category of membership:

Steve Howell
Head Teacher
City of Birmingham School
Barry Bowles
Chair of Management Committee
Local Authority Representative

Alderman Les Lawrence
Chair of Finance, Estates and Resources
Community Member


Stephen Harrey
Deputy Chair of Management Committtee
Manager - Santander Bank
Sponsor Member


Philip Haynes
Governor Representative
Community Member

Victoria Nussey 
Headteacher Paget Primary
Community Member

Sara Khalifa
City of Birmingham School
Elected Staff Member

Mark Cadwallader
Community Member

If you are interested in joining our Management Committee, please email Joanne Gremshi, Clerk to Committee: joannegremshi@cobschool.com.  We would love to hear from you.